Zimbabwe name final squad for CHAN tournament

COSAFA side Zimbabwe have named their final squad for the 2014 African Nations Championship (CHAN) to be staged in South Africa from January 11.

Zimbabwe, appearing in their third straight CHAN finals, have been drawn in Group B at the finals, which also includes Uganda, Burkina Faso and Morocco.

Coach Ian Gorowa announced his final 23-man selection for the tournament, with seven players from the Dynamos club, including striker Simba Sithole, who has previous experience of playing in South Africa's PSL.

He is not to be mistaken for another Simba Sithole in the squad, also a striker, from the How Mine club.

The CHAN tournament is only open to players who ply their trade in their domestic league, with Zimbabwe one of three COSAFA nations at the tournament, the others being South Africa and Mozambique.

Zimbabwe open their campaign at Cape Town's Athlone Stadium when they take on Morocco on January 12. They then face Uganda (Jan. 16) and finally Burkina Faso (Jan. 16).

Zimbabwe CHAN squad

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Dynamos), Tafadzwa Dube (CAPS United), Munyaradzi Diya (Highlanders)

Defenders: Oscar Machapa (Dynamos), Hardlife Zvirekwi (CAPS United) , Augustine Mbara (Dynamos), Milton Ncube (Highlanders) , Felix Chindungwe (Chicken Inn), Themba Ndlovu (Dynamos) , Eric Chipeta (Hwange), Partson Jaure (Dynamos)

Midfielders: Masimba Mambare (Highlanders), Tawanda Muparati (Dynamos) , Danny Phiri (Chicken Inn), Pascal Manhanga (Triangle), Charles Sibanda (FC Platinum), Kuda Mahachi (Chicken Inn), Ali Sadiki, (FC Platinum), Peter Moyo (Highlanders), Donald Ngoma (FC Platinum)

Strikers: Simba Sithole (How Mine), Nelson Maziwisa (FC Platinum), Simba Sithole (Dynamos)