Award winners for COSAFA Women’s Championship announced

After a scintillating COSAFA Women’s Championship, in which 101 goals were scored in 22 matches in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, the various award winners have been announced.

Player of the Tournament was awarded to South Africa’s Chrestinah Kgatlana, who played a vital role in helping her side to a fourth gold medal in five COSAFA Women’s Championships.

He got the award ahead of Golden Boot winner Rutendo Makore, who scored a remarkable 10 goals in the competition. Her team, Zimbabwe, netted 13 times in their five games, which means she supplied 77 percent of the goals herself.

Zimbabwe goalkeeper Chido Dzingirai picked up the Golden Glove prize, with her team conceding six goals.

The Fair Play award went to East African guest nation, who finished fourth after a fine debut in the competition.