Comoros seek first ever win in regional Under-20 tournament

Comoros will be seeking a first ever victory at the COSAFA Under-20 regional championship when they take part in the TotalEnergies AFCON U20 Egypt 2023 | COSAFA Qualifier in Eswatini from October 7-16.

This year’s event is a preliminary competition for the continental finals in Egypt in early 2023 and Comoros will no doubt love to compete on that huge stage. To do so they will need to be among the finalists in Eswatini.

That may seem like a mighty challenge given the team has not yet won a match in the COSAFA event in six previous visits to the tournament, but they will remain hopeful they can spring a surprise.

They have been drawn in Group C this year alongside South Africa, Malawi and Namibia, a tough pool but one they will feel is not insurmountable.
Only the top teams and the best runner up across the three groups advance to the semifinals.

Comoros made their bow in 2007 when they exited in the first round, losing their only match 4-0 to Zimbabwe in what was a tough debut.

They were back the following year, but did not get past the group stages, and then withdrew in 2009, not appearing again until the 2013 event, where they managed a pair of draws against Lesotho (2-2) and Mauritius (0-0), but missed out on the knockout stages after losing 3-1 to Kenya.

The next finals were only held in 2016 but Comoros appeared again, drawing with Mozambique (2-2) before a loss to DR Congo (0-2) in a three-team pool.

They did not appear in the next two editions, but returned in 2019, losing all three games to Malawi (4-0), Zambia (2-0) and Botswana (2-1).

It was, unfortunately, a similar story in 2020 as all of their games ended in defeat as they went down to Malawi (1-0), Zambia (2-0) and Namibia (1-0), which still leaves them seeking that first win.

They have never before qualified for the TotalEnergies AFCON U20, so doing so this year would be a huge show of their potential.

1999 – Did not enter
2000 – Did not enter
2001 – Did not enter
2002 – Did not enter
2003 – Did not enter
2004 – Did not enter
2005 – Did not enter
2006 – Did not enter
2007 – Group stages
2008 – Group stages
2009 – Did not enter
2010 – Did not enter
2011 – Did not enter
2013 – Group stages
2016 – Group stages
2017 – Did not enter
2018 – Did not enter
2019 – Group stages
2020 – Group stages