South Africa bid to host the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

COSAFA nation South Africa is one of a record nine countries to bid to host the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, which would be the first time the tournament has been held on the African continent.

South Africa, which hosted the 2010 men’s tournament, will compete with nations from South America, Asia and Oceania for the right to stage the prestigious women’s event, which this year is in France.

The official list of bidders is as follows:

  • Argentinian Football Association
  • Football Federation Australia
  • Bolivian Football Association
  • Brazilian Football Association
  • Colombian Football Association
  • Japan Football Association
  • Korea Football Association (expressing interest in a joint bid with DPR Korea Football Association)
  • New Zealand Football
  • South African Football Association

“This is the largest-ever list of MAs to have submitted formal expressions of interest to FIFA with a view to hosting the FIFA Women’s World Cup™, the first edition of which was held in 1991,” FIFA said on Tuesday.

“All interested MAs have been sent the respective overview and bidding registration documents, and will have until 16 April 2019 to submit their bidding registration to FIFA.

“FIFA will implement a fair and transparent process, which will include a clear evaluation model as well as a concrete commitment to sustainability and human rights. All bid books will be published in full on in October 2019.”