Van Geneugden names locally-based Flames for Nations Cup camp

Flames coach Ronny Van Geneugden has named a squad of locally-based players that went into camp on Sunday at Mpira Village in Blantyre to start preparations for back-to-back 2019 African Nations Cup qualifiers against Cameroon on October 12 and 16.

The coach has handed first call up to Blue Eagles’ Gregory Nachipo. Red Lions captain Chikoti Chirwa is also back in the squad after a year-long absence due to a tour of duty in Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

Meanwhile, RVG will name the list of foreign-based players next week when the final travelling squad will be announced.

However, striker Atusaye Nyondo is ruled out due to an injury he sustained during the Flames friendly match against Kenya. Robert Ng’ambi has also excused himself due to an injury he sustained while undergoing trials in Cyprus.

The Flames have three points in Group B, which 2019 Nations Cup hosts Cameroon lead with four points from one victory over Morocco and a draw against Comoros.

Morocco are second with three points from the victory over Malawi while Comoros are at the bottom with a point.

The following is the full squad:

Brighton Munthali – Silver Strikers
Charles Thom – Dwangwa
Rabson Chiyenda – NMC Bullets
Nenani Juwaya – Be Forward Wanderers

Stanley Sanudi – Be Forward Wanderers
John Lanjesi – NMC Bullets
Yamikani Fodya – NMC Bullets
Peter Cholopi – Be Forward Wanderers
Chembezi Denis – Be Forward Wanderers
Gomezgani Chirwa – CIVO Sporting Club
Precious Sambani – Be Forward Wanderers
Trevor Kalema – Silver Strikers

Chimwemwe Idana – NMC Bullets Reserves
Alfred Manyozo Jnr – Be Forward Wanderers
Mike Mkwate – NMC Bullets
Rafick Namwera – Be Forward Wanderers
Levison Maganizo- Silver Strikers
Gregory Nachipo – Blue Eagles
Chikoti Chirwa – Red Lions


Felix Zulu – Be Forward Wanderers
Chiukepo Msowoya – NMC Bullets
Patrick Phiri – NMC Bullets
Righteous Banda – NMC Bullets
Gustin Simukonda – Moyale Barracks
Peter Banda – Griffin Young Stars
Isaac Kaliyati – Be Forward Wanderers
Stain Davie – TN Stars
Yamikani Chester – Be Forward Wanderers

Source: Football Association of Malawi