Zambia claim 2019 COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship!

Jonathan Munalula scored twice as hosts Zambia have been crowned 2019 COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship winners after a comprehensive 3-0 victory over South Africa in Saturday’s final played at a packed Nkoloma Stadium.

The victory sees the side regain the trophy they last won in 2016 and means they have now been crowned champions of the region in this age-group for the 11th time.

It was a deserved success for a team who scored ?? goals in the competition and conceded just one, showcasing their potency at both ends of the pitch.

The damage was done towards the end of the first half as first Jonathan Munalula scored with a superb over-head kick from the edge of the box, before the prolific Francisco Mwepu added a second with a break-away goal.

Munalula netted a second with six minutes to go to make sure of the win and send the home crowd into delirium.

The victory means Zambia coach Oswald Mutapa also becomes the first coach to lift two COSAFA titles in a single year after he also led the Under-17 side to their championship in Malawi in October.

It completes a remarkable year for Zambia in COSAFA competitions, after they also claimed the men’s senior COSAFA Cup and Under-17 tournament, to hold the title in all three age-groups.

They were also runners-up in the Women’s senior and Under-20 championships, and finished third in the Women’s Unxder-17 age-group to mark a superb six months or so.

Angola collected the bronze medal with a comprehensive 5-1 victory over Madagascar in their third-place play-off.

It was another stunning display from the Angolans, with Ambrosini Salvador netting twice to take his tally for the tournament to five and showcase his quality as one of the leading young stars in the region.

Etson Congo Zalata scored twice in the first 15 minutes to settle Angolan nerves, before Salvador got his brace, and Hermenegildo Sengui added a fifth.

It took Angola’s tally of goals in the competition to 18, aking them one of the most watchable sides in Zambia.

Zambia’s Patrick Gondwe won the Player of the Tournament and the chance to have a trial at Spanish second division side CD Numancia, an opportunity afforded in partnership with LaLiga.

Nsessani Simao from Angola won the Golden Glove award, while Salvador picked up the Golden Boot as top-scorer, and Madagascar the Fair Play award.

Third-Place Play-Off
Madagascar 1
(Arnaud 59′) Angola 5 (Congo Zalata 9′, 15′, Salvador 46′, 69′, Sengui 83′)

South Africa 0 Zambia 3 (Munalula 40’, 84’, Mwepu 45’)



Group A                     P          W        D         L          GF       GA       GD       Pts
Zambia (Q)               3          3          0          0          9          1          +8       9
3          1          1          1          7          4          +3       4
Botswana                  3          1          1          1          4          8          -4        4
Comoros                   3          0          0          3          1          8          -7        0

Group B                     P          W        D         L          GF       GA       GD       Pts
South Africa (Q)      3          2          1          0          10       1          +9       7
Madagascar  (Q)      3          2          1          0          6          2          +4       7
Mauritius                  3          0          1          2          3          9          -6        1
Lesotho                     3          0          1          2          2          9          -7        1


Group C                     P          W        D         L          GF       GA       GD       Pts
Angola (Q)               
3          3          0          0          13       1          +12     9
Eswatini                    3          2          0          1          5          4          +1       6
Mozambique            3          1          0          2          3          5          -2        3
Seychelles                 3          0          0          3          2          13       -11      0


Matches Played: 22
Goals scored: 81
Biggest victory: Angola 8 Seychelles 0 (Group C, December 4)
Most goals in a game: 8 – Angola 8 Seychelles 0 (Group C, December 4)



6 goals – Ambrosini Salvador (Angola)

5 – Francisco Mwepu (Zambia)

4 – Oswin Appollis (South Africa), Randianantenaina Arnaud (Madagascar)

3 – Tangu Gastão (Angola), Sinenjongo Mkiva (South Africa), Patrick Mwaungulu (Malawi)

2 – Miguèl Afonso (Angola), Tseliso Botsane (Lesotho), Phaza Chose (Botswana), Patrick Gondwe (Zambia), Etson Congo Zalata (Angola), Romao Joao (Mozambique), Francisco Madinga (Malawi), Jimmy Mukeya (Zambia), Jonathan Munalula (Zambia), Majahesibili Ndlovu (Eswatini), Aristide Ranaivo Harison (Madagascar)

1 – David Aristide (Mauritius), Ricky Banda (Zambia), Kelsun Brutus (Seychelles), Doctor David (Botswana), Fernando dos Santos (Angola), Brandon Fanchette (Seychelles), Lancaster Human (South Africa), Elliot Kampukesa (Zambia), Santos Kiaku (Angola), Kaone Kolagano (Botswana), Wenzile Lushaba (Eswatini), Golden Mafwenta (Zambia), Benedito Manjate (Mozambique), Chinsinsi Maonga (Malawi), Camilo Mbulu (Angola), Athenkosi Mcaba (South Africa), Raicardo Menakely (Madagascar), Rahim Milazi (South Africa), Keagan Mitchell (South Africa), Youssouf Mohamed (Comoros Islands), Percy Moutou (Mauritius), Melono Muondo Dala (Angola), Crawford Mwaba (Zambia), Lanjesi Nkhoma (Malawi), Steward Roussety (Mauritius), Hermenegildo Sengui (Angola), Keletso Sifama (South Africa), Rafizy Todisoa (Madagascar), Lindokuhle Zwane (Eswatini)